The findings of anthropology and evolutionary psychology over the last few decades clearly suggest that most of the problems that mankind has faced since the beginning of civilization are due to social structures which do not suit the evolutionary make up of human beings.

Conventional wisdom assumes human beings to be somehow superior beings compared to animals. It assumes that man reached fulfilment with the advent of civilization and science and art and all that, and considers the prior tribal existence of man for almost 200,000 years as inferior intellectually and spiritually.

So, from the point of view of conventional wisdom, the problems of man have always existed, and it’s just human nature, and all you can do is pursue the path of spirituality to become a “better human being” yourselves. While the new findings suggests that man was better off in small groups which made a living together, where there was no concept of private property and so on.

It seems almost impossible that human beings will get out of the mess they have created over the last 10000 years or so. The social systems in place are so rigid and unrelenting. Now it doesn’t even haunt me, or affect me, and I don’t even feel interested in the question of change.

Interestingly for me, the question comes back to who am I and what am I doing here? But it makes sense to me when I think of myself as an animal, an organism that is seeking “survival” and “play” when I ask myself, what am I doing here? And it’s not even a metaphor for intellectualising. I am actually an animal seeking “survival” and “play”.