I’m well into my final month at college, and I have been recently suffering from bursts of nostalgia now and then, during the most unexpected of times. Experienced one such moment today.

Today evening, I went to the barber shop to have a haircut and a shave. It was one of the most satisfactory haircuts I’ve had in recent times. Usually they end up cutting either slightly more or slightly less than I would have wanted.

When the haircut was over, the barber told me that it cost Rs.45. I took a 100 rupee note from my wallet and handed it to him. He didn’t have 5 rupees change to give back the balance, and nor did I. He gave back to me 60 rupees, and told me, “It’s okay. Just give me the extra five rupees next time.”

I was about to thank him, accept the 60 rupees and leave- when it suddenly struck me that I wouldn’t be coming this way again.  I gave him a smile and took only 50 rupees and told him, “You keep the five rupees. I don’t think I’d be coming to your shop again. I’m leaving college soon. This was the last haircut of my college life…”