The SBI ATM near the IUAC gate has been out of order for a couple of days. And guess what, I ran out of money yesterday! The three nearest ATM’s are mentioned on a sticker on the ATM here, and according to it, the nearest one was at Ber Sarai, two kilometres away. So I thought I’d go for a walk. Ber Sarai is actually a continuation of the Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, from the JNU junction (I don’t know what it’s really called). To reach the JNU main gate, though, you have to turn west and walk for another kilometre.

I started walking from IUAC at around five past seven in the evening. Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, like most other roads in Delhi, is a well maintained four lane road where cars rush along at high speeds. But there is ample space for pedestrians also, though I doubt whether many people walk along that road, because it is really deserted, except for a few institutions on one side. On the other, you have the Sanjay Van, an intriguing little forest. While walking down the road, you can see the Qutab Minar in the distance, rising like a lone watch tower, on the other side of Sanjay Van.

The Aruna Asaf Ali Marg is home to a variety of instituions. Starting with the IUAC, you have the Indian Council for Social Science Research, the National Institute of Plant Genome Research, the Indian Institute of Mass Communication and the National Institute of Immunology, all on the same side of the road, before you reach the JNU East Gate.

The walk took me just over half an hour, so I think the distance is closer to three kilometres than two. The return journey also took me roughly the same time. By the time I reached my room, I was overcome with the pleasant weariness that’s associated with all long walks! And I almost forgot to mention the important thing – I did get money from the Ber Sarai ATM!