Two years have gone by quickly and I’m “half an engineer”… It’s a time to look back and look ahead. In another two years’ time, I’ll pass out, and what then? That’s a big question. Like Gopuettan told me, it’s no use trying to plan exactly what I’d do next – it’ll only dawn upon you on a moment’s inspiration, so what’s important is to keep your life moving. He told me that it would be best to do a master’s. He told me that I should not draw conclusions about further education based solely on the futility of the bachelor’s course.

I have never been much interested in technology. It’s true that I used to like Physics at school, and that I am fascinated by the intellectual achievements of mankind, but I’ve never fancied carrying out research in advanced, specialized fields of technology. But I’m not really worse off because I’m doing BTech. I’m studying in a reputed institute, and I still have many doors open. It’s not as if I’m fated to devote the rest of my life to electronics. It would be a good idea to go for higher studies, because as Gopuettan was telling me, a master’s course would be very flexible (especially outside India) and I can selectively learn the things I’m interested in.

Well, one option I have written off, is working in the industry. I have my priorities, and working in a highly technical job with pressures and deadlines doesn’t appeal to me. What are my priorities? I want to continue learning music (piano) throughout my life. I want to be an activist- I want to contribute to the causes I am passionate about, like the Free Software Movement, the fight against Global Warming and Consumerism, a better Education System etc. There are so many things I’d like to fight for. I have no idea whatsoever how it’s all going to work out (who does?!), but I guess continuing my studies could only help my cause. As for earning, when your material needs are fewer, you need to sell only less time of yours for paying for them!