Yesterday we (Achan, Amma, Ashwini and myself) went to watch Sathyan Anthikkad’s new movie “ഇന്നത്തെ ചിന്താവിഷയം”. I wasn’t expecting much, because of my experience with recent Malayalam movies. But still you would expect a minimum standard from Sathyan Anthikkad. It would be an understatement to say that the movie is boring.

Mohanlal’s acting is so artificial- not only in this movie, but in all recent movies. I’m a big fan of the Mohanlal of the 90’s (and late 80’s), and his acting in recent movies is a mockery of the sheer brilliance with which he acted in those days. I wish he would stop acting, so as not to destroy the charm of those innumerable characters he gave life to. In the earlier days, he used to transform himself into the character. But today, characters are made to fit his personality, as he has become a super star. There lies the tragedy.