It’s been an awful semester. The subjects are invariably uninteresting, and demoralising, and the labs have also been laborious. Anyway, just a month or so to go now, for the summer vacation.

In the meantime, I’m catching up on my reading. I haven’t read many books over the last year and a half. I read George Orwell’s 1984– marvellous book! Then I read The City of Joy, by Dominique Lapierre- about life in the slums of Calcutta. Another great book. Now I’m reading Free Culture by Lawrence Lessig, about the issues of copyright and how it impedes free culture. The author builds his arguments in a very convincing manner, drawing upon the analogy of a free market. Even believers of “Creative Property” couldn’t miss the point. Unlike the other two books, I’m reading this one on my iPod! I came across this useful website which takes etexts from Project Gutenberg and converts them into a variety of readable formats, iPod notes being one of them. It’s actually quite comfortable to read from.