That’s what this country is!

My passion for cricket ended when I became a football fan. That made me realize how boring a game cricket is. And it’s a full day wasted. In the language of Maths, cricket is a discrete time game. There are just 600 points of interest (balls) during the entire (one-day) match. The rest of the time, in between, is for bowlers to walk back to the start of their run-ups, field positioning, advertisements etc. On the other hand, football is a continuous time game. It’s 90 minutes of non-stop action.

But all that didn’t stop me from taking part in the euphoria yesterday. A common room with perhaps more than 200 people meant that the atmosphere was just like that in a stadium. It didn’t matter that India were hanging on thanks entirely to good luck - Anderson seemed bemused by the numerous edges that flew to the boundary when it looked as if India were done for - every run was cheered. And the room just exploded when Uthappa scored the winning runs. Everyone was dancing and hugging each other and giving high-fives. It was all about the atmosphere. Pity I won’t be able to experience it come Saturday, for the final one-day, the decider, at Lord’s (I’m going home this weekend).

Everything said, I still maintain that cricket is a dumb game…